Yateley Cricket Club

Yateley Cricket Club - History

About Us

Established in 1881, Yateley Cricket Club (YCC) is 140 years old and its history is synonymous with landmarks in the village of Yateley. In its formative years YCC played at the Cricketers Pub on Cricket Hill, and then on “The Green” on the Reading Road.  In 1999 YCC moved to a new purpose built ground and clubhouse at Sean Devereux Park, which was developed jointly with Yateley Hockey Club with grant support from Sport England and others.


"Home" in Sean Devereux Park

Since 1999 YCC has successfully implemented a plan to transform itself into a larger club capable of challenging the best in the area.  A youth policy is at the core of this plan and our younger players are an important part of our senior teams.   Following approval of it's management and coaching practices YCC was accredited “Clubmark” status in 2009 by the ECB and became a Hampshire Cricket “Focus” club.  Hampshire Ladies and Youth teams regularly use Yateley's ground for matches.


YCC has 17 ECB qualified coaches including Colin Justice who has run junior County Cricket teams for Surrey and Hampshire and now sits on an advisory committee for junior cricket at Hampshire CC.


Our Youth Section is one of the most successful in the North Hampshire region and competes for League and Cup Honours in all age groups.  A number of boys and girls have previously  represented Hampshire  and Berkshire in their age groups. The club is very proud of Michael Bates a former Yateley Colt who represented England at youth level and went on to be awarded a professional contract with Hampshire.


2022   1st XI    Winners Division 6b Thames Valley League - promoted to Division 5

    1st XI              Winners Division 6 Thames Valley League - no promotion due to Covid19

2019    1st XI               Winners Division 7 Thames Valley League - promoted to Division 6
            1st XI               Runners up - Shinfield Premier League

2016    1st XI                Aylward Cup Winners
            3rd XI               Runners up Division 7 Thames Valley League - promoted to Division 6

2015    1st XI               TCCL Presidents Cup Winners
            2nd XI               Winners Division 4b Thames Valley League - promoted to Division 3

2014    3rd XI               Winners Division 8a Thames Valley League - promoted to Division 7

2013     1st XI               Winners Division 2b Thames Valley League - promoted to Division 1
             2nd XI              Runners up Division 5 Thames Valley League - promoted to Division 4

2011      1st XI              Runners up Division 3 Thames Valley League - promoted to Division 2
2nd XI             Winners Divison 5 Thames Valley League - promoted to Division 4
Winners Hampshire County Cup  
               U15                 Winners Hampshire County Cup
                                      Third - ECB National Finals

2010       U17                 Winners Hampshire County Cup 
               U15                 Winners Hampshire County Cup
                                      Third - ECB National Finals

2009      1st XI              Winners Division 4 Thames Valley League

                                      Winners Three Counties Sunday League Division 2

              3rd XI              Runners Up Division 8 Thames Valley League

2008       1st, 2nd & 3rd XIs      Entry to Thames Valley Cricket League

               U13                    Winners Hampshire County Cup

                                          Runners Up – ECB National Finals


2007       1st XI                 Winners Berkshire Premier League       

                                          National Finals of Sportswise 20/20 Cup

Yateley U13’s National Finals 2008


                                     OBJECTIVES/FURTHER DEVELOPMENT

We are a friendly, successful, and ambitious club providing competitive and social cricket in an enjoyable atmosphere. 

We will run two Mens sides in the Thames Valley League, as well as two Women's teams in the Hampshire League.  Promotions for our Senior teams to higher divisions in the Thames Valley League are targeted!